The InterNACHI Standards of Practice state that "a general home inspection is a non-invasive, visual examination of the accessible areas of a residential property, performed for a fee, which is designed to identify defects within specific systems and components defined by these Standards that are both observed and deemed material by the inspector."

At Cal West, we follow these Standards to the letter. There's no dismantling or destruction of any part of your property; if the system or component is visible and readily accessible, we inspect it. These are some of the systems and components included in every residential inspection:

  • Roof, vents, and other roof penetrations
  • Eaves, soffits and fascia boards
  • Flashings, trim, gutters and downspouts
  • Skylights and chimneys
  • Exterior wall surfaces – stucco, siding, and brick
  • Decks, stoops, porches, walkways, and railings
  • All exterior / interior doors and a representative number of windows
  • Overgrown vegetation too close to home
  • Check for adequate surface drainage away from home
  • Basement, foundation and crawlspace
  • Water penetration and foundation movement
  • Heating and cooling systems
  • Main water shut off valves
  • Water heating system, energy source, venting, and temperature pressure relief (TPR) valve and extension to the ground
  • Interior plumbing fixtures, faucets and toilets
  • Drainage sump pumps with accessible floats
  • Electrical service drops and mast head connections
  • Main disconnect and service amperage
  • Electrical panels, circuit breakers and fuses
  • Grounding and bonding
  • Electrical switches, lighting fixtures and receptacles
  • Ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit breakers and receptacles
  • All visible and readily accessible components of the fireplace and chimney
  • Insulation and ventilation of unfinished spaces
  • Mechanical exhaust systems in the kitchen, bathrooms and laundry area
  • Garage doors, safety sensors, and openers
Service Areas
  • Orange County
  • Los Angeles County
  • San Diego County
  • Inland Empire
  • Riverside County
  • San Bernardino County